Schools with the most DI women&039s basketball national championships |

    South Carolina won its second national title in 2022, following its triumph in 2017, which adds gamecocks to the exclusive list of programs with multiple national championships.

    2022 Recap: How South Carolina Won It All

    Reading: Most ncaa women’s basketball championships

    louisiana tech was the first ncaa champion in division i women’s basketball, defeating cheyney 76-62 in 1982 in the first title game in norfolk, virginia. but uconn has the most titles with 11, the most recent crown in 2016.

    Here’s a look at the women’s basketball teams with the most national championships.

    11 — connecticut (2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2000, 1995)

    See also: U.S. Soccer Says Women Dont Deserve Equal Pay Because They Have Less Skill

    the huskies always seem to be the team with the biggest target on their back each season. of his 11 titles, six have ended in undefeated seasons. two of them came during his record 111-game winning streak that spanned 867 days from 2014 to 2017. Those undefeated seasons were:

    • 1995 (35-0)
    • 2002 (39-0)
    • 2009 (39-0)
    • 2010 (39-0 ) )
    • 2014 (40-0)
    • 2016 (38-0)

    8 — tennessee (2008, 2007, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1991, 1989, 1987)

    There were multiple title winners before the Ladies Vols came along, but Pat Summitt brought women’s basketball into the national spotlight. she coached 38 seasons and never posted a losing record. That included eight titles over three decades and five more national runner-up campaigns.

    3 (tied)— baylor (2019, 2012, 2005)

    kim mulkey turned the bears into annual contenders. Baylor’s last two titles have been pretty memorable, holding on to a one-point win in 2019 and completing a 40-0 season in 2012.

    3 — stanford (2021, 1992, 1990)

    Those early ’90s titles were the only two titles for Stanford until the 2021 championship, but the Cardinals remain perennial contenders, with 15 Final Four appearances.

    2 (tied) — south carolina (2017, 2022)

    See also: Ncaas dan gavitt apologizes to womens basketball teams for …

    fighting cocks have become national powerhouses since dawn staley took over. South Carolina has four quarterfinals and those two titles to become multi-champions. the 2021-22 starting team was ranked no. 1 throughout the season.

    2 (tied) — notre dame (2018, 2001)

    notre dame came within a basket of being the first repeat champions not named uconn or tennessee since the 1983 and 1984 championships. muffet mcgraw changed the face of the show, and while they only have one title in the last decade, Notre Dame has been to six championship games in the same span.

    2 (tied) — louisiana tech (1988, 1982)

    the techster ladies will always be remembered as the first national champions. in fact, they appeared in four of the first seven title games. louisiana tech has four national runner-up campaigns and hasn’t reached the finals since the 1998 season.

    2 (tied) — Southern California (1984, 1983)

    The Trojans were the first repeat champions in women’s basketball history. USC first dashed Tech’s hopes of repeating in ’83 before a two-point victory in 1984 sent Pat Cumbret home winless in his first attempt at a national championship.

    here is a complete history of the women’s basketball championship:

    See also: Emily Campbell lands 87kg weightlifting gold with record lift

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles