Tampa Bay Lightning win 2021 Stanley Cup |

    featured photo: getty images

    the tampa bay lightning clinched back-to-back stanley cup championships after defeating the montreal canadiens 1-0 in game 5 of the stanley cup final on wednesday night at amalie arena in the tampa bay.

    Reading: Tampa bay lightning stanley cup 2021

    montreal and tampa bay played a scoreless first period with lightning with a 13-4 shooting advantage before intermission. Blake Coleman led Tampa Bay with three shots on goal in the first frame, but it was Ross Colton who opened the scoring in the second period, scoring his fourth Stanley Cup playoff goal at 13:27. david savard and ryan mcdonagh assisted in the goal.

    Goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy and the Lightning fended off the Canadians’ third-period push in an effort to tie the game. Tampa Bay, who ultimately beat Montreal 30-22, celebrated a Stanley Cup win for the second straight season.

    See also: Why isn’t mckennie playing in the gold cup

    vasilevskiy, who has spent his entire career with tampa bay and won the vezina trophy in 2019, was named the conn smythe trophy winner after posting five shutouts among several standout performances during the playoffs.

    The Russian goalkeeper, who was voted the best goalkeeper in the league (54.12%) in the recent nhlpa player poll, is the first goalkeeper to record consecutive shutouts to win the stanley cup since bernie parent in 1974-1975 for the Philadelphia Flyers.

    Tampa Bay, celebrating its third title in franchise history (2004, 2020), quickly came out of the series gates thanks to a dominant 5-1 win in Game 1. nikita kucherov, winner of the 2018-19 Ted Lindsay Award, paced the lightning with a pair of goals and an assist. Brayden Point had three assists and Vasilevskiy deflected 18 of the 19 shots he faced.

    Montreal bombarded Vasilevskiy throughout Game 2, firing 43 shots at the 26-year-old back. After a scoreless first frame, lightning forward Anthony Cirelli opened the scoring in the second period, scoring his fifth goal of the postseason. Nick Suzuki answered for the Canadians to tie the game 1-1, but a redirected diving goal from Blake Coleman restored the Lightning lead with just two seconds left on the clock. Vasilevskiy closed the door in the final frame with Ondrej Palat scoring with less than five minutes remaining for Tampa Bay to hold on and win 3-1.

    See also: Tottenham end season trophy-less after middlesbrough fa cup …

    the canadiens were looking to get back into the series when the scene switched to montreal for game 3. jan rutta and victor hedman silenced the home crowd with two early goals, before phillip danault roused the home crowd with an early goal the 11:16 mark of the first period. Lightning scored early again in the second period when Kucherov turned on the lamp at 1:40. Tyler Johnson then pushed the ‘Bolts’ lead to three at 3:33 of the midframe, before Suzuki cut the Lightning’s lead to 4-2 with less than two minutes left in the second. Johnson scored his second goal of the game at 3:19 p.m. of the third before Corey Perry answered 39 seconds later for Montreal. Coleman closed out the scoring with an empty net count at 16:48 when Tampa Bay cruised to a 6-3 victory.

    josh anderson opened the scoring in game 4, an even count assisted by cole caufield and nick suzuki at 15:39 of the first period. barclay goodrow put the lightning on equal footing at 17:20 of the second half, as the teams headed into intermission tied 1-1. Tampa Bay had a 20-14 shot clock lead heading into the third period. Alexander Romanov put Montreal up 2-1 at 8:48 in the third, but Pat Maroon scored exactly five minutes later to send the game into overtime. Josh Anderson pounced on a rebound at 3:57 of the first extra frame to give the Canadians a 3-2 win, sending the series back to Florida.

    The Lightning became the first team since the Pittsburgh Penguins (2016, 2017) to win back-to-back titles.

    Congratulations to the 2021 Stanley Cup Champion, Tampa Bay Lightning, from the staff and members of the National Hockey League Players Association.

    See also: FIFA Women&039s World Cup 2023: Which teams have qualified for the tournament in Australia and New Zealand? | Sporting News

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles