Who Owns the San Francisco 49ers Football Team?

    Learn about the ownership history of the San Francisco 49ers football team, from their early days to the present. Discover who owns the team now.


    The San Francisco 49ers is a professional American football team based in Santa Clara, California. They compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) West division. The team’s rich history dates back to 1946 when they were founded as a member of the All-America Football Conference (AAFC). Since then, they have won five Super Bowl championships and produced some of the most iconic players in NFL history. However, who owns the san francisco 49ers football team?

    Early History of San Francisco 49ers

    The San Francisco 49ers were originally founded in 1946 as a member of the All-America Football Conference (AAFC). At the time, the team was owned by Tony Morabito, a Bay Area businessman who had a passion for football. Morabito’s vision was to establish a professional football team that would represent the Bay Area and compete at the highest level of the sport.

    The team struggled in their early years, but they saw success in 1949 when they won the AAFC championship. However, the AAFC folded after that season, and the 49ers were absorbed into the NFL. Despite the transition, the team struggled to find success in the NFL for many years. It wasn’t until the 1980s that they saw a resurgence under the ownership of Edward J. DeBartolo Jr.

    Ownership of San Francisco 49ers

    The San Francisco 49ers have had several owners throughout their history. After Tony Morabito’s passing in 1957, his brother Victor took over the team’s ownership. In the 1970s, the team was sold to a group of investors led by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. In 1977, Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. took over ownership of the team and would remain the team’s owner until 2000.

    In 2000, the 49ers were sold to the current owner, Denise DeBartolo York and her husband Dr. John York. The team has remained in the DeBartolo/York family ever since. Under the York’s ownership, the team has seen both success and struggles. They have been to three Super Bowls, but have also seen several losing seasons.

    Present Owner of San Francisco 49ers

    Denise DeBartolo York and Dr. John York are the current owners of the San Francisco 49ers. Denise DeBartolo York is the daughter of former owner Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. and was heavily involved in the team’s operations during her father’s ownership. Dr. John York is a former neurosurgeon and has been involved in the team’s operations since taking ownership in 2000.

    Under their ownership, the 49ers have made several changes to the team’s facilities and operations. In 2014, the team moved from their longtime home at Candlestick Park to Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, which is considered one of the most technologically advanced stadiums in the NFL. The team has also invested heavily in their practice facilities and training programs, with the goal of creating a winning culture and developing top talent.

    Although the team has seen some struggles on the field in recent years, the DeBartolo/York family remains committed to bringing a championship back to San Francisco. With a strong ownership group and a talented roster, the 49ers are poised for success in the years to come.

    Related articles


    Share article

    Latest articles