Tampa Bay lightning win 2020 Stanley Cup |

    featured photo: getty images

    the tampa bay lightning are the 2020 stanley cup champions after defeating the dallas stars 2-0 in game 6 of the stanley cup final on monday night at rogers place in edmonton .

    Reading: Who won 2020 stanley cup

    It was a 2019-20 nhl postseason with no spectators due to the ongoing pandemic, but players from both sides managed to put on an impressive show.

    See also: World Cup 2022: Dates, confirmed draw, England fixtures and UK kick-off times plus information on rules, weather and stadiums for this winter’s tournament in Qatar

    despite a game 1 loss to dallas, which edged out the vegas golden knights to reach the championship round, tampa bay evened the series thanks to a 3-2 game 2 victory.

    Tampa Bay Captain Steven Stamkos, who last played on February 25, briefly returned to action to deliver an incredible moment in Game 3 when he scored 6:58 into the first period in his first at-bat. The Lightning, on the strength of three second-period goals and a three-point night from Victor Hedman, cruised to a 5-2 win.

    It was a see-saw affair in Game 4, as Dallas led 2-0 and 3-2, before Tampa Bay took a 4-3 lead in the third period. Dallas center Joe Pavelski continued his phenomenal postseason play by scoring with less than nine minutes left in the third period. Lightning defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk played the role of hero in overtime when he hit a power play marker in the extra period to give the Lightning a 5-4 victory and a 3-1 series lead. p>

    in game 5, veteran forward corey perry gave dallas a 1-0 lead after one period, turning on the lamp with less than three minutes left in the first frame. Ondrej Palat scored his 11th playoff goal for lightning 4:37 into the second period, as the teams headed into the third period tied 1-1. Mikhail Sergachev gave Tampa Bay the lead at 3:38 of the third period, but Joe Pavelski answered at 13:15 to send the game into overtime. The first scoreless extra frame saw the Rays outscoring the Stars 7-1 and hold a 37-28 lead overall. corey perry scored at 9:23 of the second overtime to force game 6.

    See also: 2021 Breeders Cup free live stream and how to watch the horse racing online and on TV, start time, odds | What Hi-Fi?

    brayden point recorded his 14th goal of the playoffs, a power-play count at 12:23 of the first period, to give tampa bay a 1-0 lead after the first period in game 6. blake Coleman doubled the lead at 7:01 of the second, as Lightning had a 21-8 shooting advantage heading into the third. There was no score in the third period, as Andrei Vasilevskiy made 22 saves for his first career playoff shutout.

    tampa bay, which celebrated its second cup title in franchise history (the first came in 2004), conquered the columbus blue jackets in the quarterfinals of the eastern conference, the boston bruins in the semifinals and the new york islanders in the eastern final, to reach the championship round.

    It was sweet redemption for the Lightning, who finished first overall in 2018-19 but were swept by the Blue Jackets in the first round of the Eastern Conference playoffs.

    victor hedman, who has spent his entire career in tampa bay, was named the winner of the conn smythe trophy. The 29-year-old defenseman had 10 goals and 21 points en route to his postseason MVP honors.

    Congratulations to the 2020 Stanley Cup Champion, Tampa Bay Lightning, from the staff and members of the National Hockey League Players Association.

    See also: Defending stanley cup champion lightning back in east final

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles