FIFA Women&039s World Cup 2023: Which teams have qualified for the tournament in Australia and New Zealand? | Sporting News

    While most eyes are on the 2022 World Cup in Qatar at the end of the year, the 2023 Women’s World Cup is also fast approaching.

    The ninth edition of the tournament will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand with a record 64 matches to be played in 10 different stadiums.

    Reading: Womans world cup schedule

    Teams from around the world have started booking their tickets, with Asia, Europe and North America confirming spots for next year’s event.

    sports news brings you the latest on who has qualified for the 2023 women’s world cup as the united states look to defend their titles from the last two events. Canada, defending Olympic champions, also qualified for the tournament.

    how many teams are there in the 2023 women’s world cup?

    In 2019, FIFA unanimously voted to expand the Women’s World Cup from 24 to 32 teams from the 2023 tournament onwards.

    See also: Qatar 2022: Australia, Peru face off in World Cup qualifier | Qatar World Cup 2022 News | Al Jazeera

    This temporarily aligns it with the men’s version, but it will expand from 32 to 48 teams in 2026.

    the 2023 women’s world cup will consist of a certain number of teams from each confederation, which is as follows:

    • asia (afc): 5 slots + 1 host slot (australia)
    • africa (caf): 4 slots
    • north america, central america and the caribbean (concacaf): 4 quotas
    • conmebol (south america): 3 quotas
    • oceania (ofc): 0 places + 1 host place (new zealand)
    • europe (uefa): 11 places
    • playoff tournament: 3 seats

    A playoff tournament consisting of 10 teams will see three nations book their place in the 2023 women’s world cup.

    The tournament will be played in February 2023 and will feature three groups made up of seeded and unseeded with places allocated as follows:

    • asia (afc): 2 spaces
    • africa (caf): 2 spaces
    • north america, central america and the caribbean (concacaf): 2 quotas
    • south america (conmebol): 2 quotas
    • oceania ( ofc): 1 place
    • europe (uefa): 1 place

    which teams have qualified for the 2023 women’s world cup?

    Although there is still over a year to go, 10 teams have already booked their place in the 2023 women’s world cup.

    See also: What happens when the stanley cup gets full of names

    The full ranking won’t be known until February 2023, when the playoff tournament is played, but many more teams will qualify in the months ahead.

    The following table will be updated as nations secure qualification:

    *last updated on August 22, 2022.

    when does the women’s world cup start?

    • Opening group stage matches: 20 July 2023
    • Final group stage matches: 3 July August 2023
    • round of 16: from August 5 to 8, 2023
    • quarter finals: from 11 to August 12, 2023
    • semi-finals: August 15-16, 2023
    • third place match: August 19 August 2023
    • Women’s World Cup Final: August 20, 2023

    the 2023 women’s world cup will kick off on july 20, 2023 (local time) with australia and new zealand playing their first group matches. The host traditionally opens the tournament, and New Zealand has been proactively assigned to Group A, while Australia is placed in Group B.

    Exactly one month later, the 2023 Women’s World Cup Final will be played on August 20, 2023 at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

    The 2023 Women’s World Cup Draw will take place on October 22, 2022 from Auckland, New Zealand. the three participants in the intercontinental playoff will not have been determined at that time.

    See also: Nhl teams that have won the stanley cup

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles