World Cup of Golf | Top 100 Golf Courses

    Sanctioned and organized by the International Federation of PGA Tours, the World Cup of Golf is a 72-hole team event of stroke play for professional golfers that pits 2-man teams from different nations against each other in a 4-day contest . the format of the competition has evolved to play days one and three as four-ball (best ball), with the second and final days designated for foursomes (alternate shot).

    It all started as the Canadian Cup at Quebec’s Beaconsfield Golf Club way back in 1953, when the Argentine pairing of Roberto de Vicenzo and Antonia Cerda beat six other teams to win the inaugural event. American industrialist John Jay Hopkins founded this tournament with the intention of using the event as a sports platform to promote international goodwill.

    Reading: World cup of golf format

    John Jay Hopkins Trophy - World Cup of Golf

    See also: Why is the gold cup every 2 years

    the man who implemented the expansion of golf’s international profile was tournament director fred corcoran, who took over the operation of the third edition of the canada cup when it was held at the columbia country club in maryland . Corcoran had promoted and run PGA events during the 1930s and 1940s (he also helped establish the LPGA and the Golf Writers Association of America) and would continue to run the organization of the World Cup until his death in 1977.

    after fourteen annual editions of the canada cup, the competition became known as the world cup in 1967, with 40 teams participating in the spectacular golf season finale at club de golf méxico, vying for the trophy john jay hopkins. Twenty-four World Cups later (there were no contests in 1981 or 1986), the event became the World Cup of Golf in 1993 at Lake Nona Golf & country club in florida

    finally, seven years later, at the golf club of buenos aries, the 46th world cup in 2000 became a world golf championship event with the participation of twenty-four teams and that is when the game format from the combined aggregate score of each. team determining the overall winner to the current format. In 2007, he lost his WGC status and returned to the IFPT, with the original John Jay Hopkins trophy at stake.

    since 2011, the world cup became a biennial event and some might say it was initially a bit lost. The emphasis shifted from team competition to individual scoring in 2013 at Royal Melbourne, but that configuration was dispensed with at the 2016 and 2018 events at Kingston Heath and Metropolitan. nobody knows what the organizers of the 57th edition of 2013 were thinking.

    See also: FA Cup vs EFL (League) Cup – What&39s The Difference? – Football Handbook

    In fact, there was an individual component to the competition, from day one. The international trophy was awarded forty-five times through 1999 and multiple winners include Jack Nicklaus (3 times) and four other players with two wins: Roberto De Vicenzo, Johnny Miller, Gary Player and Ian Woosnam.

    In terms of the top team award, Team USA. uu. he has won nearly 50% of all world cup matches ever held with 24 first place awards in 2020. both jack nicklaus and arnold palmer teamed up to win four of those team titles, as did fred couples and davis love iii. jack and arnie also won two other events associated with different players.

    royal melbourne golf club has hosted the world cup four times so far (1959, 1972, 1988 and 2013) and the tournament was played three consecutive years at the olazábal course in mission hills in dongguan, china, from 2007 to 2009. Four other clubs have held the event twice: The Good Aries Jockey Club (1962, 1970); Kiawah Island Golf Resort in South Carolina (1997, 2003); Olgiata Golf Club in Rome (1968, 1984), TPC Dorado Beach in Puerto Rico (1961, 1994).

    You will not find the venue for the 1970 event in the list below, as the Real Sociedad Equestrian Club Golf Club moved to another location in Madrid. Three other World Cup courses are also absent from our listings: Dinah Shore Course at Mission Hills Country Club in California (1976), Pierre Marques Golf Course in Acapulco (now called Turtle Dunes Country Club) ( 1982) and tokyo yomiuri (1966).

    See also: My favourite game: Japan v USA, 2011 Women’s World Cup final | Women’s World Cup | The Guardian

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles